Lefkada is the fourth largest island of the Ionian islands complex.It is at a close proximity to Etoloakarnania county and it is the only island with direct road access via a floating bridge.


Its name is attributed to its extreme south cape ,Lefkada, named Lefkas stone in ancient times.

The county of Lefkas consists of 24 small and bigger islands scattered across the sea. Most of them are accessible by boats which organize daily tours from the ports of Lefkada, Nidri and Vassiliki. The island is famous for its wonderful long stretched beaches located on both the east and the west side.

Let’s not forget that the beaches Kathisma and Porto katsiki are every year in the first positions of the top ten most famous Greek beaches.

Mainland attractions are also of interest

  • The Archaeological Museum
  • The Lagoon which includes some of the most important Ionian wetlands
  • The castle of Santa Maura
  • The four windmills at Gyra which decorate the extended Agios Ioannis beach.
  • The lovely islette of Ai-Nikolas –favourite spot of the famous Greek poet Aggelos Sikelianos
  • The Monastery of Faneromeni
  • Melissa’s Gorge a really special trekking route
  • Amazing mountain villages like Karia. Exanthia, Vafkeri and many more.

It is worth mentioning that Lefkada is a prime destination for sea sports buffs as in Agios Ioannis , Vassiliki and Nidri. The winds are unique for kite and wind surfing and there are many schools qualified to offer you scuba diving lessons.